Council of Elders

The Nisga’a have always governed ourselves according to Ayuukhl Nisga’a, the traditional laws and practices of the Nisga’a Nation. The Council of Elders provides guidance and interpretation of the Ayuuk to Nisga’a government. Composed of chiefs, matriarchs, and respected Nisga’a elders, the Council of Elders is appointed by NLG in accordance with Nisga’a law and the Nisga’a Final Agreement. The Chairperson of the Council of Elders is elected by all Nisga’a citizens.

Current Members


Sigidim-nak’ Angaye’e, Shirley Morven, Chairperson of the Council of Elders

Term ending December 2014

Simgigat/Sigidim Haanak’:    

       Sim'oogit Daaxan, Perry Azak                                        (Gisk’aast /Gitwinksihlkw)

       Sigidim-nak’ Ksi-bilaa, Elsie Campbell                            (Laxskiik/Laxgalts’ap)

       Simoogit Gwisk'ayn                                                      (Laxgibuu/Gingolx)

       Sim'oogit Hleek, Joseph Gosnell Sr.                                (Laxsgiik/Gitlaxt’aamiks)


Term ending December 2016

Rev. Harry Moore, Ging̱olx - Regular Member; John Stewart, Ging̱olx - Alternate Member

Alan Moore, Lax̱g̱alts'ap - Regular Member; Hester McKay, Lax̱g̱alts'ap - Alternate Member

Jacob Nyce, Gitwinksihlkw - Regular Member; Mercy Moore, Gitwinksihlkw - Alternate Member

Rev. Clyde Gary Davis, Gitlax̱t'aamiks - Regular Member; Lorene Plante, Gitlax̱t'aamiks - Alternate Member

Modal Title

Any content could go in here.