Council of Elders take Oath of Office at the NLG Executive Meeting

On December 20, 2018, the newly appointed Council of Elders took Oath of Office at the NLG Executive meeting and was administered by the Chairperson of the Council of Elders, Sim'oogit N'iisyuus, Willard Martin.

In accordance with section 44(3) of the Act, the President recommends the following individuals for appointment to the Council of Elders for the 2018-2020 term:

Regular Members:

  • Sim'oogit HLEEK - Dr. Joseph Gosnell, Sr., Gitlaxt'aamiks - Laxsgiik
  • Sim'oogit DAAXAN - Perry Azak, Gitwinksihlkw - Gisk'aast
  • Sim'oogit WISIN XBIL'TKW - Andrew Mercer, Laxgalts'ap - Gisk'aast
  • Sim'oogit Sim'oogidim Xsgaak - Alvin E. Nelson, Gingolx - Laxsgiik

Alternate Members:

  • Sim'oogit Axgwindaskw  - Jeffery Clifford Azak, Gitlaxt'aamiks - Laxgibuu
  • Sim'oogit Laay - Hubert Haldane, Laxgalts'ap  - Laxsgiik
  • Sigidim-nak' Luu Sgadaks - Jennifer Haldane, Laxgalts'ap - Laxgibuu
  • Sigidim-nak' K'allii-Xsootkw - Nancy Moore, Laxgalts'ap - Ganada

The Council is established pursuant to the Constitution of the Nisga'a Nation and the Nisga'a Government Act to nurture the spirit of the Nisga'a Nation; provide guidance to interpretation of the Ayuuk; and advise Nisga'a Government on matters relating to the traditional values of the Nisga'a Nation.

The special ceremony photos can be found here: Council of Elders Oath of Office 2018

Modal Title

Any content could go in here.